Home > Reviews, Zondervan > God in My Everything: How an Ancient Rhythm Helps Busy People Enjoy God by Ken Shigematsu

God in My Everything: How an Ancient Rhythm Helps Busy People Enjoy God by Ken Shigematsu

Excerpt:

“Perhaps you are neither a business person nor a pastor, but you find yourself consumed by your work, your studies, your family, your involvement in the church or community – all good things in and of themselves – but they feel like they’re crowding out your life with God. In fleeting moments you yearn for a deeper, richer, more transforming friendship with God, but this seems elusive, perhaps even impossible. What if there was a way to experience God as your deep center, not only in your formal prayers and Bible reading, but in the midst of your studies, work, exercise, and play? What if there was a way to enjoy God not only as you sit in quiet contemplation but as you move about your day? What if you could weave friendship with Christ into the fabric of everything you do without leaving your world and becoming a monk?” – from the Preface

Review:

God is a God of order. He created us to enjoy order. My kids function at their best when they are on a schedule. I function at my best when I am on a schedule. Most people have a rhythm to their life whether it is by design or by default. In this book, Ken Shigematsu explores the concept of spiritual rhythms as a way to fully engage and enjoy God.

In the first section of the book, Mr. Shigematsu introduces us to the “rule of life”. This monastic principle helps give structure to our spiritual growth. The imagery of a trellis is used and is very helpful in illustrating this concept. The second section is concerned with the roots of our spiritual growth. These roots are three-fold: sabbath, prayer, and sacred reading. The third section is concerned with how we relate to others. This is also three-fold: spiritual friendship, sexuality, and family life. The fourth section’s three-pronged emphasis deals with our restoration: care for our bodies, play, and money. The fifth and final section unpacks how we reach out in three ways: work, justice, and witness.

This book found me as I began to desire a more disciplined approach to my own relationships to God and others. There is much wisdom to be found in this book. It has made me hungry to find some primary sources and study this topic more deeply. I appreciated the author’s ability to communicate profound truth in such an integrated way. I pray that this book will gain a wide readership and that it will be used greatly to deepen many people’s relationships with God. It has given me some structure as I begin my journey to deepen my intimacy with God.

Book Details:

  • Author: Ken Shigematsu

  • Publisher: Zondervan

  • Format: Softcover

  • Page Count: 256

  • ISBN: 9780310499251

  • List Price: $16.99

About the Author

Where to Buy:

Disclaimer: I received this book from Zondervan via Cross Focused Reviews in exchange for my unbiased opinion.

Categories: Reviews, Zondervan
  1. January 8, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    Cliff, thank you for your persona honest review of my book. I am grateful that you found the book timely. Thank you also for your prayer for the book. It is doing surprisingly well. All proceeds of the book are going to World Vision and missions.

  1. September 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

